FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss all micropropagation related topics here.

Moderator: Matt

By Mycelium
Hi all,

I'm new in growing Drosera seeds on agar plates or agar bottles. I grow now for many years edible and medicinal fungi (Mushrooms) on agar plates so I have a sterile area and a flow hood and autoclave. And I know how all works but growing seeds on sterile media is new for me.

Please can anybody of you tell me what kind of agar media I need ? I have no idea what I must mix with the agar that the seeds can grow on it ? And of course how many agar and how many water and other stuff I must mix. When I make the agar as I make it for growing fungi I keep a petri dish with a very strong gell like agar media not a liquid agar media. So I have no idea if the agar must be gell or liquid. Please help me

Friendly Regards

Tom
By Doomsday
Hey! You will use a gel medium. I would use MS media with vitamins included at 1/3rd strength. Mix one liter of water with one pack of ms media including vitamins then dilute it to three liters. Add 25g sugar per liter. I use the measuring spoons from carols tissue culture website I think its called kitchen tissue culture and I use one pinch spoon per jar of three tablespoons. I put that In each jar so it doesn't settle and make inconsistent jars.
By Mycelium
Dear Doomsday,

Thank you very much for these info is MS media the only medium what I can use for Drosera species and can I also do tissue culture on this medium ?? and what part do you use the end of a leaf where the sticky drops are on ?? Is this a good part to put on agar
By Doomsday
Hey,