FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By newbie14
Im new to carnivorous plants and i was wondering if the following terrarium setup is okay till summer.
Setup:
sphagnum moss
wood(not treated) to elevate plants up to light
1 t8 5000K "natural light" Phillips fluorescent bulb
20 gallon tank
rainsoft reverse osmosis water
no fertillizer
Plants:

Drosera Binata
2 Venus fly trap
Sarracenia purpurea
sarracenia rubra
sarracenia Leucophyll x "Wilissii"
Although im new i've researched CPs pretty well, most are Lowe's plants, 3 are ordered by Bug Biting plants.
Plants are okay i bought them a 2 days ago in their "death cubes"
Attachments:
2011-05-15_15-29-12_724.jpg
2011-05-15_15-29-12_724.jpg (339.04 KiB) Viewed 4363 times
By Matt
Hello and welcome to FlytrapCare!

All of those (except the D. binata) are temperate plants that grow best in full sun. Why not just grow them outside in full sun? Terrariums are challenging to grow temperate plants in for even experienced growers. I don't know where you live, but if it's still too cold, you can keep them in a sunny windowsill or a sunny porch until the chance of freeze and frost has passed.
Matt liked this
By newbie14
Thanks, im in kansas, lows will be in the 40's is that still okay? if so ill put them outside
By limeslide