FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By tryingmybest
Hi everyone, I’m a beginner at keeping venus flytraps and just bought my first VFT a few days ago. I’ve been keeping my VFT in the yard to let it get enough sunlight.

However, this morning I woke up to a damaged VFT. Now I don’t have solid evidence of this, but I’m suspecting that the possums that hang out in my yard did this? I will look for a new, safer spot for it.

My questions for you guys are: is there a chance that my VFT can make a come back? If so, what are some things I can do to help it recover? Should I leave it alone or feed it a bug to give it more energy?

I’m located in the Brisbane area in Queensland, Australia, and it’s starting to get chillier here so there is also the added factor that my VFT may go into dormancy soon.

The photos are taken a day apart
Attachments:
20E68F88-E5D2-4847-A379-9DFA8ACFAB40.jpeg
20E68F88-E5D2-4847-A379-9DFA8ACFAB40.jpeg (2.7 MiB) Viewed 3996 times
2BF1F1C0-65EB-4813-BDE5-5770E5DCB9CD.jpeg
2BF1F1C0-65EB-4813-BDE5-5770E5DCB9CD.jpeg (2.95 MiB) Viewed 3996 times
By Panman
Looks fine to me. As long as they didn't dry out, they will be fine. I've had tree rats, aka squirrels, uproot several of my flytraps and pitchers. I think I got to most of them quick enough to save them. I did have a drosera aliceae go missing because of those pests.
MikeB, tryingmybest liked this
By MikeB
When I read "possum", the first thought that came to mind was "What on earth would a possum want with a flytrap?!" Then I read "Australia" and thought "Ah, a different beast from my local possum."
Virginia opossum with young.jpg
Virginia opossum with young.jpg (70.56 KiB) Viewed 3937 times
Mine are officially called "opossum" but I don't think I've ever heard anyone say that name.