FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Venus Fly Trappin
[img]I was attending a redhawk native american festival on saturday and one of the vendors gave me a Venus fly trap and a pitcher. He told me to transfer it to a bigger pot immediately. I asked questions of perlite and other types of dirt he said peat moss just peat moss. So thats what i did now, He also gave me pitcher plant with a sundew in the middle. Now my question is one of the pitchers look sick as if its drying up. I did my research on the pitcher i know they are suppose to retain water inside. Also More information i have it indoors under a 60w day plant light, its blue. Im going to attach pictures. Im just curious because i know if a vft is turning black i am to remove it. Im new to carnivorous plant scene but dedicated to catch on quickly i was reading other post on here and i got lost on translation of acronyms...
P.S. I would love to know the correct name of each plant [/img]
Attachments:
name also whats the little thing in the corner growing... i have a feeling i may have to get another pot and grow each one individually
name also whats the little thing in the corner growing... i have a feeling i may have to get another pot and grow each one individually
1405439702798.jpg (401.38 KiB) Viewed 2565 times
name?
name?
1405439594168.jpg (298.98 KiB) Viewed 2565 times
name?
name?
1405439522830.jpg (324.84 KiB) Viewed 2565 times
By SundewWolf
The pitcher plant is a Sarracenia Purpurea. You are correct with them retaining water, purps should be filled up with water if it evaporates and rain doesn't replenish it.

As for the soil, I would personally add perlite. It helps break things up so a "brick" of peat doesn't form, and also helps with drainage and aeration. You have to make sure its free from fertilizers though.