FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Azakella159
Hi all!

I'm new to VFT, i wanted to ask which is a better growing medium, just using the long fiber sphagnum moss only or the soil mix of the sphagnum moss, perlite and silica?
I got one randomly at a store before and I fell in love with them.
I can water them for most days, when i get home from work at night.
But there will be some weekends where I will not be home, but I understand that a tray of water can be put under them in those circumstances.
And I plan to put them outside in the sun during the day.
Any help is appreciated, I want to keep my VFTs happy and healthy as I plan to start a collection of them.

Thank you!
By Nick
Different growers have various opinions on ideal growing media mixes, but the general consensus is that quality LFSM is the best choice.

Also, VFTs do best if they are left outside constantly. Moving them indoors and outdoors frequently puts a lot of stress on the plants and can harm them over time.
This is a great start, and there is a lot of other useful information in the accompanying links.
By Azakella159
Nick wrote:Different growers have various opinions on ideal growing media mixes, but the general consensus is that quality LFSM is the best choice.

Also, VFTs do best if they are left outside constantly. Moving them indoors and outdoors frequently puts a lot of stress on the plants and can harm them over time.
This is a great start, and there is a lot of other useful information in the accompanying links.

Unfortunately, I cannot leave her outside when I am not home, as the last time I did it I came home to her all dug out and laying on the ground her traps mauled and I witnessed a squirrel hanging out around her before I came home to her dug out, and the next time I noticed a squirrel hanging around her again.