FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Ayla
Hi, i'm relatively new to carnivorous plants and actually have a problem with 3 different types. I'll start here tho: I bought a seedling nep. in the spring and it has been doing wonderfully. It has been repotted twice and every new leaf sprouts a larger pitcher than before. Two days ago i noticed a small black spot on the lid of the smallest pitcher (and oldest pitcher) on the plant. It has since progressed. The leaves of the plant are all green and healthy and nothing has changed in its care or location. So i'm asking A. Is this a normal progression of the plant? (Are they like flowers and normally die off at a certain point?) B. What do I do about it? I've read posts, but most concerned leaves turning brown or pitchers on New plants turning black due to shock. None of which really applied in this situation. ((Please disregard the "pot" it's in. The plant was desperately needing repotting and the only container i had the right size was a plastic cup that previously housed my Amaranthus caudatus sprouts))
Attachments:
20181017_102458.jpg
20181017_102458.jpg (3.02 MiB) Viewed 8137 times
20181017_101630_HDR.jpg
20181017_101630_HDR.jpg (3.35 MiB) Viewed 8137 times
By camsdad66