FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By megojoe
Hi All I am new to growing Baby Fly Traps

I need Help!!!
1. I got some seeds from the fly trap store (Matt)
2. I did 10 seeds in Moss 10 seeds in peat
3 All went good (I am paw paw now) all of them grow
4.Now they are been eating up with the Green Mush grown all around them
some has covered the babies, I have to on cover them with a toothpick.

So every one how can i help them and Stop the Green Junk from killing my babies ??? :?:
Help

How can I stop it, (See Pictures be low) or go here and look at all pictures http://hostminis.net/flytraps

Thank all you for help
Steve
By Shadowtski
More experienced FlyTrap growers might have a better idea. But I suggest getting some silica sand from a swimming pool filter. You can usually find this at a home improvement store or a Pool supply company. Put a thin layer of it on top of you encroaching Green Slime. (Probably some type of Algae) Use a toothpick or something similar to move the sand around your baby FlyTrap. As it grows, add a thicker top-dressing of sand. It should help keep the creeping crud in check. Don't top water your plant. Water it from the bottom by the tray method. This should keep the top of your pot dry enough to discourage the Green Goo.

Good growing,
Mike
By Nick
Definitely algae. I'd suggest something like the above post with the addition of trying to remove as much as you can manually and scaling back the watering a bit.
By Smooter80
Next time rinse your peat. That will greatly reduce or prevent the algae from growing. There is no need to leave indoor VFTs in standing water so only water as needed.

If these were mine, I would combine the other's advice with a twist. Manually scrape off all of the algae, top water flush until your run off is 30 TDS or less, cover the surface with sand.