FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By MetaNight808
Hey matt you should make youtube videos about taking care of venus fly traps and such. I've always wanted to but im a complete newb :D . just a suggestion for you, it will also help business.
MetaNight808 liked this
By Matt
Steve and I have discussed making videos and plan to do so at some point. Problem is that we don't live close enough to each other to be able to film one another. I've thought about getting my wife to do some video, but I haven't followed through on it.

Anyone interested in providing Steve and I with a list of topics that you'd like to see videos of or that you think would be most helpful to new growers? I suppose these are the things that I'd probably start with:
1) A video discussing the importance of bright light for flytraps and how lack of good lighting is a leading cause of death.
2) A video discussing the importance of water low in mineral content and why it's important for flytraps. Discuss how to collect rain water, purchase distilled water and mention reverse osmosis units. Also talk about how to test water with a TDS meter and where TDS meters can be bought for a reasonable price. Also talk about how flytraps, contrary to popular believe, prefer to have their soil moist, not wet. Leaving them sitting in water, especially if they're in shallow pots, can lead to root rot.
3) A video discussing proper planting media for flytraps and demonstrating the technique for planting them.
4) A video discussing dormancy, when it happens, how to recognize it, etc.

Anything else?
Matt liked this
By MetaNight808
Hmm.... well you could discuss about growing venus fly traps from seeds, different types of venus fly traps, background info on the venus fly trap..... can't really think of anything else. i'll tell you when a thought comes to my mind.
By 95slvrZ28