FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By That one plant boi
Hey y'all! So I've been in this forum for some time now, but I've never properly introduced myself.

My name is Quinton and I live in South Florida. I've been growing carnivorous plants for around five years now. It's been quite the experience for me so far as I have learned so much about these magnificent plants!

The plants that really got me into this hobby are my two king Henry fly traps. They've been able to put up with everything I have put them through, including watering them with tap water, letting them dry out etc. Both are still with me to this day, five years later.

Now I grow a small variety of CP's, including three cultivators of fly traps, eight nepenthes, two drosera species, a single pinguicula and many sarracenia. I did have a cobra lily up until recently, but it got fried while I was on vacation :(. After getting into CP's, I started getting into plants of all types, including orchids.

Up until recently, growing CP's wasn't easy. I was living in an apartment as I had moved in with my dad after being in a poor living situation with my mom. After I had moved in with dad, I had no choice but to grow all my CP's together indoors under artificial lights, including my eight erect species and hybrid sarrs. Keeping the healthy and happy was difficult, especially for the sarrs. Many plants suffered and I even lost some, but most were able to pull through until my dad was able to buy a house. Now I have my sarrs and flytraps growing outdoors in full sun and my neps, dews and ping indoors under artificial lighting.