FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Kat-C
Hi there, I have been raising CPs for about 20 years but I am not an expert! Am constantly learning.

It started with getting my son a venus fly trap when he was about 5, graduated to a Sarracenia Judith Hindle (which we still have) and grew from there. We currently have about a dozen Sarrs, some Darlingtonia, 6 or so VFTs and about 40 nepenthes. And lots and lots of sundews, mostly because they spread like crazy. Also a Brocchinia Reducta (that's a carnivorous bromeliad, for the uninitiated). Most of the nepenthes are in a greenhouse and couple in a terrarium. Everything else is pretty much outside. Our climate is Mediterranean—cool, foggy summers (great for highland neps!) and mild, rainy winters.

Nice to meet fellow CP enthusiasts. :)
By sanguinearocks101
Kat-C wrote:Hi there, I have been raising CPs for about 20 years but I am not an expert! Am constantly learning.

It started with getting my son a venus fly trap when he was about 5, graduated to a Sarracenia Judith Hindle (which we still have) and grew from there. We currently have about a dozen Sarrs, some Darlingtonia, 6 or so VFTs and about 40 nepenthes. And lots and lots of sundews, mostly because they spread like crazy. Also a Brocchinia Reducta (that's a carnivorous bromeliad, for the uninitiated). Most of the nepenthes are in a greenhouse and couple in a terrarium. Everything else is pretty much outside. Our climate is Mediterranean—cool, foggy summers (great for highland neps!) and mild, rainy winters.

Nice to meet fellow CP enthusiasts. :)