FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Rassac
Hey guys,
So I am a newbie been growing CP for almost a year... and I have been thinking if I really needs a growlight or not ... is it worth getting one bacause i managed to germinate 8 VFT but they died all ... and i saved one :) also failed when germinating 5 cephalotus seeds ( did not stratify)... Should I get a grow light?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By jpappy789
What are you using for a light source otherwise?

A "grow" light doesn't necessarily need to be something very expensive or high-tech. I started out with just compact fluorescent bulb in a clip-on shop fixture. Now I have a lot of relatively inexpensive LEDs. But it depends a lot on the space you are trying to light as well as the plants you are looking to try out again.
By Matt
An indoor growing area is great for getting plants started from seed. It makes it much easier to control the environment and provide stable conditions and protect the baby plants from potential hazards.

It is also a great place to grow plants recently out of tissue culture. However, if you are just growing adult plants and mostly temperate carnivorous plants, most will do better outdoors in full sun.

It is OK to grow them under lights for a few weeks or months but without strong outdoor lighting and good air movement, the chances of some sort of fungal disease are very high with an indoor grow setup.