FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Post here to sell, trade or list your wants if you live in the US

Moderator: Matt

By Kapahulu
Im very new to this carnivorous plant keeping. I live in Jacksonville Florida, (Zone 9). And im wondering, when is a good time to purchase VFT and sarracenia??
Right now im looking to order both types of plants..
Any available??
Thanks....
By CPhunter101
Sarracenia are currently going dormant and will not be looking very nice until spring.
VFTs are also going dormant, but they look somewhat better than the sarrs.
My advice would be to buy a sundew like Drosera Capensis since most sundews look nice throughout the year.
If you're looking for a tropical pitcher plant, Nepenthes Ventrata (or Alata) is a good pick.
By Shadowtski
Flytraps and Sarracenia Pitcher Plants mostly go dormant over Winter in their native habitats.
I've had the best luck with purchasing them at the the very end of Winter and planting them immediately.
This helps them to acclimate to their new home while coming out of dormancy.
Matt, the ADMIN of this forum is also owner of https://www.flytrapcare.com/store/
He sells high quality Flytraps, Sundews, Pitcher Plants, and more.
He also sells some tropical or subtropical Sundews which grow all year long, they can be purchased any time.
This is all just my 02¢ worth.
I do not work for, or have any financial intertest in this forum or store.

Good growing,
Mike
MaxVft, Panman, Apollyon liked this
By Apollyon
You can order them at any time. Personally, I'd rather order a dormant Sarracenia in fall/winter and have it wake up in the spring. Ones I purchase during the growing season can go either way and either grow immediately or stagnate all season and I see them grow the following year.

Flytraps/Sarracenia are starting to go dormant here in Florida as well. My Sarracenia went from looking great to not so great pretty quick :P Leucophylla, Alabamensis and Alata are still growing though.