FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about your orchids and share photos of them here

Moderator: Matt

By akinkysnorlax
Hey everyone. I bought my lady friend a orchid at Lowe's for her birthday present. It was on clearance for 5 dollars. I believe it was so cheap because all the flowers had already bloomed and the store actually had a new shipment of orchids and wanted to get the older ones sold first. I have no experience with growing orchids. I have been trying to decipher if I am taking correct care of it. It honestly does not look like it has grown any since I have purchased it on 04/11. There were about 8 flowers on it and now two remain. I put it in a place where it gets bright ambient light and very small amounts of direct sunlight. It is next to a west facing window. I water it once a week and fertilize it with 1/4 tablespoon per gallon of Miracle grow orchid food every other watering. I water it until I see the first sight of water leaking into the saucer. It is always between 65-75 degrees in my house. Once the last two flowers come off I plan on cutting the spikes and repotting the entire plant into orchid bark and into a more airy pot. It is currently potted in LFS. I am posting some pictures to help with the scenario. I pretty much just want to know if it is growing at the right pace, if its getting the correct amount of light and water, and anything I can do to make it healther.

These photos were taken just after I watered it. It is also cold and rainy today with no breaks in the clouds.

By coline
Well, the orchid living in such a dark place with the heavy sphagnum is not doing any good, either give it more heat and sunlight, or change the sphagnum for pieces of cocunut shell, charcoal, pumice, and other volcanic rocs so it has more aireation or it will rot. Orchids need a lot of light.
By akinkysnorlax
I have just moved it to a bright east facing window.
Here is what I plan on doing