FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By petmantis
Hello everyone,

I might be getting a D. linearis originating from an alkaline Quebec fen, and even though I've scoured the internet for tips on this, the only tips I've gotten were from the grower who's sending me the plant. Since he provided me with guidelines, I'd like to get a few more tips from the members here so I can get a better idea of how to care for this plant...it seems a bit finicky.

If any of you have successfully grown D. linearis, especially the alkaline-loving kind, I'd appreciate any tips you could give!

Here are the questions I asked before, any help is welcome! http://ocps.proboards.com/index.cgi?boa ... hread=3211

Happy growing!

-Pet
By watnazn
Let me just say I have no experience with this plant, but I find it really interesting. But I am reading The Savage garden, so if you don't have it, this is some info he gives.

It needs a cold winter, he left the plant six to seven months in the refrigerator. And the media used was one part sand and one part vermiculite, but its said they can live in acidic peat soils. He said he only had limited success. I don't know what you are going to do, I would honestly listen to the grower if he has kept the plant alive and grows it well. What did he say to use for a media?

Well I hope you have good luck with it, and maybe you can become the pro at growing it.

Good luck.
By petmantis