FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions on how to propagate your plants sexually and asexually, by seed, natural division or leaf pulling

Moderator: Matt

By chrisaggie
This is my first winter dormancy with drosera in my bog. Night time temperatures are going to get down to around 40 two nights this week where I am and I figure most of my drosera filiformis and tracyi will begin to think about going dormant soon. My idea is to cut a lot of leaves off these plants to begin leaf propagation indoors under lights. Any reason this is a bad idea?
By Intheswamp
That sounds like a good plan to me, though I'm a newbie. I dream of having a small forest of Tracyi!!! Are these red (pink flower) or green(anthocyanin free/white flower)? If you end up with too many Tracyi leaves I'd love to get some of them!!!! :D I've been looking for some affordable plants (not a lot of luck there :( ), some leaf cuttings would be great! I know you weren't offering them out, but figured I had nothing to lose by putting a bug in your ear about them. :mrgreen: Thanks!
chrisaggie liked this
By Panman
chrisaggie wrote: Mon Oct 17, 2022 9:39 pm My idea is to cut a lot of leaves off these plants to begin leaf propagation indoors under lights. Any reason this is a bad idea?
The sooner you cut them, the better. Once the plants start slowing down their growth, you are less likely to get strikes off of the leaves. I have found that the older the leaves are, the less strikes that they produce.
chrisaggie liked this
By chrisaggie