FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Theharvester
Hello Everyone,

I am a sixth grade science teacher who has decided to expand my love of plants to the CP variety.

My class has purchased a B-52 as our first plant and it is doing well as per the growers directions.

I live in Tyler, Texas and we have summers that reach over 100 degrees for days at a time.

Should I continue to windowsill grow this plant and any others that the class decides to obtain or should we place it out doors during milder times of the year?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and expert advice.

Craige LeBreton
By Shadowtski
Hi, welcome to the forum!

I'm not a FlyTrap expert, more of a Drosera guy.
My two cents worth is always try to grow stuff outside as much as possible.
Matt, our Admin, has a lot of information posted here: HTTP://www.flytrapcare.com .
You'll find a lot of good information and a number of friendly people here.
I run a community seed bank for members to expand their collections.
Once you get comfortable growing your FlyTrap and want to try growing other species of CP from seed, check it out.

Good growing,
Mike
By Fly Trap Hunter
Hello and welcome. I'm factoring in this is a indoor class. The fly trap prefers to be outside when its above freezing. A hanging basket, put outside the window, may serve your purpose. I believe a fly trap will survive on a windowsill with 1 to 6 hours direct sunlight. It would love direct sun all day. If it doesn't get enough light, the traps will get deformed looking. one thing I'd suggest is find a cheap office adjustable table light that will reflect the light down and buy a LED bulb that gives you 500 lumens and your fly trap will be happy without going outside. I have a LED bulb that doesn't get hot and uses 4.5watts.

keep a tray of water under the fly trap. when its 100F, keep more water in the tray.
By Theharvester