FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By SwiggityStag
Hello everyone! I am brand new to the forms and keeping carnivorous plants. I have always had a green thumb and I have dabbled around with bonsai trees and other unique plants. I moved here to Tennessee from Southern Nevada, and I really enjoy how easy it is to cultivate plants here. After a lot of thought and research I decided to get a Venus Fly trap. I really wanted one that was healthy, has a lot of aesthetic appeal, and would also help with the absolutely abundant amount of insects in my house. I have the perfect area to keep my plant where it will get plenty of sun, and also gets cold. (My kitchen, during the winter I seal it off from the rest of the house, close the vents, and the windowsill it will be on has a window that is perpetually cracked open, letting in the cold. It is enough to give my Juniper bonsai a dormancy, so I figure it will work for the fly trap.) I ended up buying a bristletooth from flytrapstore.com. ( http://www.flytrapcare.com/store/venus- ... istletooth ) I am suuuper excited about getting it! It is already potted so, for now, I will not have to worry about purchasing the type of soil I will need or a new pot. I know I will eventually, but I figured in the end this was less trouble AND I'll be getting a better plant then getting one of those plant kits from the educational toy section of the store. I have thoroughly read the caresheets and about the sort of supplies I will eventually need... but does anyone else have any additional advise for a beginner just about to receive their first plant? Does anyone have any experience with this plant specifically?
By SFLguy
The care for almost all vfts is generally the same so there won't be any difference in conditions between bristletooth and most other flytraps, one thing I'd ask is why not grow it outdoors?