FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By h3r0
Hello all,

Long story short I got into plants so I am a bit of an amateur in the general sense. It was only a few weeks ago I learned how to properly care for some spider and snake plants. Long story short, I got bored and annoyed at my bug problems which inspired me to purchase some carnivorous plants.

I have done my best to read up on some material and learned quite a lot (this forum is a gold mine for caretaking info). However, there are knowledge gaps to overcome still as Google can be somewhat inconsistent in searching (looking up symptoms of red marks on leaves return red Cape Sundew varieties).

So I come here, presenting some photos, asking if you guys could help me identify any issues and guide me through this journey. I would appreciate any tips and resources to learn more about these guys!

These photos are about a week and a half old and I am a little concerned about the well being. I am growing them indoors with 20W rated LED red/blue grow light. I live in a pretty low humid environment and temps range around 78F. When I received them I have:

1)Repotted them with peat/perlite mix
2)Kept the soil wet with distilled water using tray method incorrectly ie let the soil be soaking for a
day). *Rectified by now letting the soil soak for only couple of hours whenever the soil starts to
get just moist.
3)Kept the LED lights close ( <3in) and on for 36hrs. *Rectified by keeping the lights 3in away and on
only for 12hrs.
4) Sporadically mist them (twice a day, quick spritz)

The main concerns I have are:

1) I have noticed the center (crown?) of the plant is a bit brown. Is that an issue and what could be the causes of it?

2)I have noticed reddish spots/streaks on some of the branches. Is that due to stress? I am guessing due to a combination of repotting and harsh lighting I messed up with earlier.