FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Z10987654321X
How big can A venus fly traps' trap get? How can I get my traps to get as big as possible? How long would it take?
By sbrooks
I'll give you my simplistic take as a relative newbie myself. A" typical" will get traps as big as an inch, but it may take 3 or 4 years. Feeding them insects with a high nitrogen content (carnivorous predator insects), help make traps bigger. Lots of sunlight, don't let them dry out, for the most part let them feed themselves, but an extra bug once or twice a week should help with fertilization. The downside to feeding them yourself, IMO, is I often struggle to keep a bug in the trap long enough for it to close without either bending/damaging some hairs on the trap, or having parts of the bug sticking out. Both can result in the trap rotting and dying, thus hindering growth progress. So there is a balance to find through experience. Anyway, some genetically manipulated cultivars have claimed over 2 inch traps after 6 or 7 years (see B52, or The Fly Trap Store exclusive DC XL).
sbrooks liked this
By Veronis
From seed, it takes 3-5 years to grow to full size, depending on its conditions (availability of food, light, etc.). From plantlet/division or via tissue culture (grown in a test tube with special nutrients), a new flytrap can get to adult size in 1-2 years, sometimes faster.

Small correction to above, "typical" flytraps can get traps that are close to 2 inches maximum size. But it's far more common of a "typical" flytrap to max out around 1 inch trap size, although some will be bigger, especially if the parents had large traps (my friend has a seedling he claims is crossed between B52 and Low Giant; the seedlings are 5 or 6 years old and their traps are 2 inches long).