FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Mawy_Plants
Alright! So I purchased a couple Sarracenia two days ago and I've been really giddy to repot them. I'm guessing they're typicals bc they weren't labeled. Although idk if saying typical is proper since I know that's what an unlabeled VFT would be called. One appears to be S. purpurea based on characteristics I've read. Guessing the other, S. flava? Please feel free to correct me, I'm new to this Family/ Genus so I don't quite have the botanical nomenclature down.

I've been researching and I continue to see it's best to not disturb them during growing season or just before dormancy. Makes sense. My area is considered Zone 10a, Mediterranean climate.
As of right now, sunlight duration is just short of 12.5 hrs. Mid-October will be 11.25 hrs. A month ago, during mid-August duration was slightly over 13.5 hrs. Just to give you an idea since I'm well aware dormancy is moreso triggered by light duration opposed to just temperature.

That being said, the media seems to be alright if I have to leave them in there for a little longer. Mostly peat, but there is some perlite. If it's okay to repot now, best believe that's what I'll be doing! What do you think??

I'm asking bc when I repot my VFTs mid-June (during growing season) they didn't seem to fuss and are doing extremely well. They are a different Family tho so that might be a factor.

Many thanks!
Attachments:
Taken 09/12
Taken 09/12
IMG_4699.JPG (1.05 MiB) Viewed 4904 times
Taken 09/12
Taken 09/12
IMG_4703.JPG (996.14 KiB) Viewed 4904 times
Last edited by Mawy_Plants on Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
By riveraXVX