FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By houseplantfan
Hello! I am new to growing VFTs. I used a 50/50 mix of LF sphagnum moss and perlite to repot a VFT that was purchased in regular potting mix. I then read conflicting reports on LF sphagnum versus using regular peat. Should I repot my VFT and mix in some peat or will it be ok? I did this 2 days ago and the mix is still very wet but no longer draining. I have a large drainage hole in the bottom of my pot so I am not concerned about standing water, just the amount of water retained in the mix. ~ Thanks!
By Fishkeeper
LFSM is generally considered to be the best substrate in which to plant flytraps. As long as you didn't pack it in tightly, it's good.

Soak a handful of sphagnum in water, then squeeze it out like it's a sponge and feel how wet it is. That's about the dampness level that you're aiming for. You generally want to wring out a newly soaked mix before putting plants in it, otherwise it's a bit too wet and may take some time to dry out properly.
By houseplantfan
Thank you! I do have a follow up question. My soil did drain well, thankfully, but now my plant isn't doing well. I let it hang out inside (getting full sun from about 4pm on) for a few days to let it recover and then put it on my patio in full sun.

We are experiencing high humidity and had one evening of rain. After 2 days, I lost 2 traps and 2 more are yellow with black spots. The other 3 heathy traps are closed (probably from trapping something). I moved it to my screened in porch because I thought maybe it was getting too much sun/heat. Any suggestions as to what is going on? I have attached a picture.
Attachments:
IMG_5119.JPG
IMG_5119.JPG (726.38 KiB) Viewed 3914 times
By Matt