FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By aliciag
Hi! My name is Alicia! I'm new to VFT's and plants in general. I recently got a Venus Fly Trap as a gift so I have many questions!

This is Seymour :D (sorry for the orientation of the image)
I got it exactly one week ago.
IMG_3664.JPG
IMG_3664.JPG (563.8 KiB) Viewed 1523 times
I currently am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The temperature has been between 30-50 degrees Fahrenheit. I keep my VFT on my windowsill in the morning because it is too cold to put it outside. When it warms up I put my plant in my backyard and it gets about 3-4 hours of direct sunlight. I take it back inside and put it on my windowsill at night because it gets too cold. I've been giving it distilled water using a tray so that the soil is moist, but not soaked.
Now that I've given you my background information here are my questions:

I believe my cold windowsill and the temperature outside has triggered Seymour's dormancy, but I'm not entirely sure. Should I skip dormancy? Or should I just let it do it's thing? How can you tell when a plant has gone dormant? It's usually cold in Albuquerque until April. Is that plenty of time for my plant to be dormant?

Also, should I repot my plant? I feel like it's pot isn't deep enough. If so, when should I repot it?

This is Seymour yesterday :)
(The dark specs on the plant are just soil)
IMG_3674.JPG
IMG_3674.JPG (720.11 KiB) Viewed 1523 times
Keep in mind that this is my first VFT and plant in general so I'm unsure about everything lol.
Thank you! :D
By Shadowtski
Should I skip dormancy? Or should I just let it do it's thing? How can you tell when a plant has gone dormant? It's usually cold in Albuquerque until April. Is that plenty of time for my plant to be dormant?

Also, should I repot my plant? I feel like it's pot isn't deep enough. If so, when should I repot it?