FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss non-carnivorous plants here

Moderator: Matt

By katya_dog1
I used a paint brush for mine, and they set fruit the best in two years.
By katya_dog1
It was a bell pepper though, but I cannot imagine hot peppers being much different.
By bvalente
@maiden thats aweosme!! mine are starting to produce flowers now too :)
By Maiden
I will try. I think shaking the flowers works also. I am used to pollinate complicated flowers, im lost when its too easy LOL
By Maiden
Just got a new shipment of pepper seeds from a friend ! Quite amazing !!

I will have pepper seeds for life LOL
By Maiden
My first hot pepper growing.Image
:D

Im a total novice with veggies growing, anyone have advices for me at this stage?
By katya_dog1
Lots of warm light, KEEP WET! Peppers will not forgive you if they don't have enough water during fruit set, and they will short you on yields if they get unhappy.

Other than that, just be patient and give them some fertilizer according to manufacturers directions. Use something high in phosphorus, not nitrogen.

Enjoy!
By Maiden

Yes i keep my plants's soil always moist.
Many growers told me to keep the soil always dry, and to wait a lil leaves wilt before add water again. But each time i do that, my plants struggle and all the flowers abort.
:/
By katya_dog1
Maiden wrote:Many growers told me to keep the soil always dry, and to wait a lil leaves wilt before add water again.
Who in the world told you that? That is a sure method for failure when growing fruiting plants. Herbs like a little stress, it improves the flavor but I won't get into that.
By Maiden
Many growers on thehotpepper forum and many websites also.

Anyway, i have to make my own experience. Since i keep my pepper always moist, they just thrive:)
By bvalente