FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Bud
Thinking about adding sand to the soil mix. Below is the description for Quickrete commercial grade sand found at the local bigbox store. Is this the sand that you guys are using? And what size grade, they have course medium & fine.
Thanks Much!

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
QUIKRETE® Commercial grade sands are
narrowly graded clean dry silica sands. They
are available in three grades, fine (No. 1961),
medium (No. 1962) and coarse (No. 1963).
Composition and Materials: QUIKRETE®
Commercial grade sand is high quality silica
sand.
Packaging: Available in 50 lb (22.7 Kg) and
100 lb (45.4 Kg) bags.
Color: white to light tan.
By Ava_G
Silica sand is good. I'd assume the coarse stuff would work better than the fine sand, since the point of mixing it into the peat moss is to provide aeration and drainage. But I'm still learning about all this myself, so hopefully someone with more expierence will post their thoughts, too. :)
By Adam
One nursery told me they use coarse sand as their VFTs grow better in it. I hence bought some premixed VFT media from them.
By Steve_D
I prefer coarse sand myself, but that's just a personal preference. I like the consistency and aeration of the growing mediumwith plenty of coarse sand in it.

That Quikrete brand sand you found looks great, since the information about it specifically says "silica sand." Silica sand, unlike river or beach sand or so called "play sand" (for children's sandboxes) is composed almost entirely of grains of silicon dioxide, common quartz.