FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By bencrawf
I am completely new to fly traps. This is a B-52 I got about mid may this year. It has had some good growth. I think I need to repot it into something larger/deeper sooner rather than later. It seems that using pure sphagnum moss is the way to go.

Also I am not sure what to do about the trap that are turning black. Should I cut them, change time or directness in the sun, or should I not be concerned at all?

Thanks for reading.

Also on a few of the pictures you can see one trap took too big of a bite on a lightning bug. It was still blinking when I came home that evening:). Just thought that was neat.

By uusa2000
I wouldn't uproot, moss looks good. So take the whole thing out cup as one piece and place it in a bigger prepared pot.

Sent from my Z970 using Tapatalk
uusa2000 liked this
By xr280xr
I don't see much cause for concern. It looks like it might be a little heat stressed if it has been very hot there, but it might just be old traps naturally dying back. You can do like uusa2000 says, but I would loosen up the moss when you take it out of the cup to make sure it blends and wicks well with the additional moss you put it into.
Also on a few of the pictures you can see one trap took too big of a bite on a lightning bug. It was still blinking when I came home that evening:). Just thought that was neat.
That's awesome! I'd like to see that.
xr280xr liked this
By Matt
I agree with the others. No need to uproot nor do I see anything that is concerning in terms of health. If you do want to repot it, just keep it in a bundley and put it in its new pot and level out the moss.
Matt liked this
By Big-Jack
Looks good to me but a larger pot is always a good thing.

I feed mine so many lightning bugs this time of year they look like Christmas trees blinking at night.
Big-Jack liked this
By riveraXVX