FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions on how to propagate your plants sexually and asexually, by seed, natural division or leaf pulling

Moderator: Matt

By taylerhill
Hello everyone, I received my vft seeds from Fishman yesterday! Now I'm trying to decide what growing medium to use for them. I'm used the LFSM for my adult plants, but didn't know if something else might be easier or work better for starting seeds. Also this is my first time with seeds so any tips are greatly appreciated! Thank you!
By jcroyle
I am considering water germination for at least half of the ones that I have on the way from the FTS

Sent from Second star to the right and straight on 'till morning"
By taylerhill
jcroyle wrote:I am considering water germination for at least half of the ones that I have on the way from the FTS

Sent from Second star to the right and straight on 'till morning"

I'm trying to decide if I want to try this method too
By cjpflaumer
I started 20 seeds side by side in peat/sand/perlite mix and pure LFS. The seedlings in the LFS have a couple more traps, appear slightly larger and there is one in particular that is twice the size of any other. They both are growing well though otherwise.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
By taylerhill
cjpflaumer wrote:I started 20 seeds side by side in peat/sand/perlite mix and pure LFS. The seedlings in the LFS have a couple more traps, appear slightly larger and there is one in particular that is twice the size of any other. They both are growing well though otherwise.

Thank you for the info!! That is interesting!
By xr280xr
High quality long fiber sphangum moss, is my preference. Moss like FTS' New Zealand sphagnum, or BetterGro orchid moss that is light colored and fluffy. It can be kept extra humid and doesn't get moldy or slimy. You can chop it up a little first to make it easier to unpack when it's time to transplant.
By Branmuffin