FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By stevefalco
I am new to flytraps. I bought a Dune Craft kit, and apparently like many other folks, had very little success with it - only one flytrap seed germinated. Naturally, I was disappointed, and so I decided to try again with a different supplier. I discovered flytrapstore.com, and ordered some seeds.

The seeds arrived very carefully packed in a crush-proof tube. I mixed up some plain sphagnum moss and pearlite, planted the seeds, and watered with the same "reverse osmosis" water I use for orchids. Success in a big way. Virtually every seed germinated. I now have 4 large plastic cups of baby flytraps, about 6 weeks old now.

Here is a micro-photo of one. Even though it is too small to eat a gnat, it is clearly fully formed. Fun!
DSC_0281.jpg
DSC_0281.jpg (44.78 KiB) Viewed 3430 times
By HarrisAz
haha gratz on the germination!that proves that FTS seeds rocks!

btw can i ask u one noob question?whats a Dune Craft Kit?i usualy see it on Utube and heard what ppl said in this forum but nvr know what it is.answers are appreciated :)

Regards
By HarrisAz
i wonder hw come FTS's seeds germinate and other supplier's dont?
By stevefalco
The Dune Craft kit I bought is a plastic terrarium, maybe 10" across and 6" high. They include peat moss, and two packets of seed. One packet can be planted immediately, but the other packet has to be stratified (by moistening the seeds, and then leaving them in the refrigerator for a month and a half to simulate winter).

I only had one flytrap germinate, but I have a few other seedlings that I cannot identify yet. The kit is said to include some sundew and pitcher seeds. They are just not big enough to tell which are which.