FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By RavenM
Hello everyone,

I'm very new to raising venus fly traps, especially from seed. The very first one I got to grow from seed is over a year old. It was very healthy up until a few days ago, when the central heating came on because its been cold outside. I'm used to some casualties this time of year because the change in the air is just so extreme. But this... caught me by surprise. Usually, I keep a lid over my little one year old trap, but lately I've been taking it off to get it use to the regular air. When I went to water it last, I discovered it to be almost completely dried out. I flipped. I had just looked at it not more than a day or two earlier and it had been fine.

Here's a picture of the poor little crispied guy:

I gave it some water from the bottom so the medium is moist again. Is there anything else I can do? Is there any hope? It hasn't turned completely black but I'm wondering if its too young to survive... :cry:
By dantt99
I'm not sure, It probably got pissed when you took the cover off and got exposed to the air...
By Matt
RavenM wrote:Usually, I keep a lid over my little one year old trap, but lately I've been taking it off to get it use to the regular air.
I wouldn't advise ever covering them. There is no need for it and it actually increases the chances that you'll have some problems with mold, fungal growth, etc.
RavenM wrote:When I went to water it last, I discovered it to be almost completely dried out. I flipped.
Oops! You're not the first to make that mistake (I know for a fact because I've done it).
RavenM wrote:I gave it some water from the bottom so the medium is moist again. Is there anything else I can do? Is there any hope?